• Recruit Report
  • Posts
  • CJ Kirst's Best Lacrosse Advice (Tewaaraton Finalist)

CJ Kirst's Best Lacrosse Advice (Tewaaraton Finalist)

The one thing he wish he did sooner.

Good morning,

I’m Jake and this is Recruit Report presented by Apex Lacrosse Events.

I’m your friend who tells you everything you need to know about lacrosse.

Apex is already accepting applications for their Fall National Showcase, October 12 & 13, spots for this event fill out every year so be sure to apply!

Now, let’s get into it!

The ONE Thing CJ Kirst Wish He Did Sooner…

I’m always on the hunt for new strategies and tips from the game’s top players. This week I listened to an interview between Quint Kessinich and CJ Kirst, and it did not disappoint

Quint asked CJ, “what advice would you give younger players who want to play college lacrosse?

CJ said, “I have a training log…2 summers ago I started writing down every workout that I did. When I played at the world games, I would glance down at those pieces of paper and that instilled the belief in me that I put in the work. I definitely wish I started doing this sooner. “

If you don’t have a training log yet - you should start one right now. Let me show you how: 

Get out a pen and paper and write down today’s date at the top. Below the date, write down what lacrosse-related things you did today. Try to be as specific as possible, like “100 reps of shooting” or “watched film for 30 minutes on Connor Shellenberger.” 

Keep this paper in your lacrosse bag, and glance it right before every practice or game. Think of it like your secret weapon that you can use to quickly boost your confidence and get your mind right before you play. 

Better yet, send me a picture of your training logs and they could be featured on the next newsletter!

Chase has one of the quickest first steps in the country. 

When I turned on Chase’s highlight reel, I was extremely impressed with his change of direction around the cage, and it reminds me a bit of Michael Sowers or Jordan Wolf in their high school days. 

The sophomore attackman from NJ has a ton of upside, and I’m super excited to see how his summer plays out. 

As always, his highlights will be on repeat for me this week. 

As always, nominate yourself or another player to be featured: [email protected]

Talk soon,

Jake

P.S. remember to fill out an application for the Garden State Showcase!