Lacrosse Players Need to Do This Before 2024...

How to reflect, the greatest high school team ever, and more.

Good morning.

I’m Jake and this is Recruit Report presented by Apex Lacrosse Events.

I’m your friend who tells you everything you need to know about high school lacrosse.

Spots for Apex Summer Showcases are Filling Up Quickly.

Over 1,500 attendees have matriculated to college programs in just the last 6 years.

Apex 60 - July 24 - 26 - Interest Form
First Look - June 1 & 2 - Interest Form
Goalie Summit - July 22 & 23 - Interest Form
Faceoff Summit - July 22 & 23 - Interest Form

Now, let’s get into it!

The End of Year Lacrosse Reflection

Maybe I’m just getting older, but 2023 felt like the quickest “lacrosse year” yet. It was filled with incredible games, insane performances and controversial calls. 

It’s almost the end of the year, and that all gives us time to reflect. If you’re a lacrosse player, it’s important to take a step back and evaluate the parts of your game you’re happy with, and where you want to improve. 

To make it even easier, here’s a 20-minute journaling exercise you can do at home right now. Just take out a pen and paper, and get going: 

  • What are you most proud of this year? 

  • What are 3 things in lacrosse I’m grateful for?

  • What’s 1 thing I can do next year as part of my daily routine that will help me become a better lacrosse player?

  • What aspect of my game do I want to improve the most in 2024? 

  • What are my 2024 season goals? 

Respond to this email and I’ll read your responses!

The Greatest High School Lacrosse Team Ever (Part 1)

One of my favorite lacrosse debates is trying to answer: who is the greatest high school lacrosse team ever?

Today, let’s break down the 2013 Boys’ Latin Lacrosse team. 

The lakers had 24 D1 commits on its roster, with a starting attack lineup of Shack Stanwick, Colin Heacock and Colin Chell. 

The team was so good that Pat Spencer, one of the greatest college lacrosse players ever, was on the JV team! 

This loaded roster won 19 games in a row heading into their MIAA conference championship, when they faced their rival Loyola with #1 recruit Ryan Conrad. You can watch the full breakdown of the game above.

If you’re an NFL fan, this Boys’ Latin team reminds me of the 2007-2008 Patriots team.

So…which high school team should I break down next?

Featured Recruit: Asher Ziv (Class of 2025)

Asher’s highlights popped up on my YouTube recommended feed, and let’s just say I’m glad I clicked!

This guy is as shifty as they come, and I love the way he’s able to get off shots with defenders all over his hands. 

If you’re a younger lacrosse player looking for a high school player to model your game after, Asher could be your player. 

As always, his highlights are on repeat for me this week!

Remember, every week we feature a recruit. Respond to this email to nominate a player!

Talk to you soon, and happy holidays!

P.S. Make sure to fill out an interest form before the Apex 60 Showcase before spots close.

Best,

Jake