The Lacrosse Recruiting Window is 1 MONTH AWAY

Sept. 1st, New Syracuse Assistant, and more.

Good morning.

I’m Jake and this is Recruit Report presented by Apex Lacrosse Events.

I’m your friend who tells you everything you need to know about high school lacrosse.

Apex just opened up limited spots for the Apex Fall National Showcase.

Over 200 alumni are now playing D1 lacrosse, and there’s over 30 college lacrosse coaches attending.

Spots are closing soon, and you can fill out an interest form here.

Now, let’s get into it!

September 1st is Almost Here

We’re officially 1 month out from September 1st.

If you didn’t know, Sept. 1st of your junior year is when your recruiting window opens, and college coaches can start contacting you.

Here’s how to prepare for what’s ahead:

If you’re not a junior yet: September 1st is still a huge date to keep in mind.

I want you to ask yourself - where do I want to be by Sept. 1st?

Is your goal to play high level D1 lacrosse? College lacrosse? No college lacrosse?

Having a plan BEFORE September 1st will make your recruiting experience much smoother.

If you’re a junior: you need to be prepared.

Start by making a list of schools you want to reach out to. I’ve attached an example email template you can use at the bottom of this email for inspiration.

Next, list your 3-5 biggest priorities in looking for a school. Is it location? Academic reputation? A certain degree? This will help you narrow down your list.

Finally, remember this: everyone’s recruiting window is wildly different. If you don’t get calls on Sept. 1st, do not be discouraged.

Let me tell you a quick story about Gavin Adler. He was recently the #1 pick in the PLL draft, and he was unranked a high schooler.

I spoke to him recently, and he told me he had to fight tooth and nail for ANY looks at college lacrosse programs. Now he’s one of the most celebrated players in the entire sport.

Long story short: no matter where you’re at on September 1st, put your head down and keep working hard.

Syracuse Has a New Defensive Coordinator

After Syracuse DC Dave “Petro” Pietramala left for UNC, the Orange had a huge coaching gap.

That gap is now filled, with Manhattan Head Coach John Odierna taking the reigns as defensive coordinator.

In his first season as Jaspers' head coach, Odierna led Manhattan to having the No. 1 scoring defense in the country.

What do you think of this hire?

Featured Recruit: Ben Boyer, LSM

When I first saw tape of Ben Boyer, I was HOOKED.

He was recently ranked the #5 LSM in the class of 2025, and it’s no secret why.

He’s a 4-sport athlete in Texas: playing strong safety in football, forward in basketball, hurdles in track and LSM in lacrosse.

His highlight tape reminds me of Chris Walker - another LSM who happened to go to his same high school, Highland Park. His highlight reel is one of the most viewed lacrosse videos of all time:

Remember, every week we feature a recruit. Respond to this email to nominate a player!

Talk to you soon.

Best,

Jake

P.S. Make sure to fill out an interest form before the Apex Fall National Showcase spots close.

P.S. Cold Email Template:

Hi Coach (name),

I hope you had a great summer. My name is (first + last name), and I am a (grad year) (position) from (city, state). I attend (high school) and play for the (club team name) during the fall and summer. Currently, I have a (GPA) and participate in student council at my high school.

I am interested in (school), because (write 2-3 short sentences).

Here is my summer and regular season highlight reel: (link). I was an all-state player scoring 40 goals and 30 assists.

I would love to learn more about the program and schedule a call if you have time.

I hope you have a great week.

Best,

Name